And The Winner Is!

Dear religious blogger,

I apologize for all my blogposts that offended your beliefs. I am truly sorry.

What you choose to believe is entirely up to you.

If you wish to home-school your children in order to instil your beliefs without opposition is entirely up to you.

If you wish to discriminate against certain sections of society – women, gays, black Jesus, dogs, pigs, fornicators, atheists – as the bedrock of your belief is entirely up to you. If you choose divinity over science is entirely up to you.

It is disrespectful of me to point out the countless times throughout history that religion has been wrong about everything from biology to astronomy to meteorology to zoology and anthropology; it’s disrespectful of me to question absurd assumptions if they make total sense to you.

I am tired of the conflict, the turmoil and heartache my opposition, scepticism and resistance to the gospels, conversion therapies and morality police have caused you, your family and your fellow believers – if magicians can pull rabbits out of hats then surely God can push two of every living creature plus dinosaurs back into one! Trade secrets. Amen!

I will not be publishing any more anti-religion posts after today (unless history related), or any more anti-Israeli occupation posts, because I’ve finally accepted that God is sovereign over this planet; his holy law and his people are what matter. I will not oppose him or you any longer; burn the sinners or rapture the saved, as you like, just do it at a safe distance from my person.

I will live out the rest of my virtual and real existence without acknowledgement of your presence, or his. And I hope that you, and him, will extend me the same courtesy.

Comments
10 Responses to “And The Winner Is!”
  1. Eva van Beek says:

    I think it was John Irving who once said: ““Religious freedom should work two ways: we should be free to practice the religion of our choice, but we must also be free from having someone else’s religion practiced on us.” 🙂

  2. lennymaysay says:

    Reblogged this on Lenny Says and commented:
    Can’t really say I can promise the same…

  3. I wear my death threats as badges of honour, Lex. There’s that great quote in the film ‘Dogma,’

    Rufus: He still digs humanity, but it bothers Him to see the shit that gets carried out in His name – wars, bigotry, televangelism. But especially the factioning of all the religions. He said humanity took a good idea and, like always, built a belief structure on it.

    Bethany: Having beliefs isn’t good?

    Rufus: I think it’s better to have ideas. You can change an idea. Changing a belief is trickier..

  4. makagutu says:

    How far is the nearest church to your place of residence? I think if it is close and they attempt to be in your face, you will be back here writing about it.
    Yes, I agree, way too taxing

Leave a comment

  • Follow nerd on the bridge on WordPress.com
  • Ford Prefect's Towel

    • None
