Doctor King Schultz

Django Unchained.

This movie has given Americans a small dose of discomfort and the blogosphere a greater dose of caution. Spike Lee found the excessive use of the word nigger offensive (in an age of niggas), and felt himself obliged to disrespect the man who made it – his ‘civic duty’ as a black man.

The film can be summed up entirely in one scene, the answer to one fundamental question. Django and Doctor Schultz ride into town, everyone stares, the entire town gawking. The doctor asks, ‘why is everyone staring at us?’ Django replies, ‘They ain’t never seen a nigger on a horse before.’ It was a heart stopping event, shocking; it made people uncomfortable, mad, or downright hateful, because niggers don’t belong on horses, it just ain’t right, in 1858. Fast forward. The 21st century. America doesn’t like to remember or talk about niggers on horses. Maybe they should.

I am often angry at the Jews, now a powerful country, for not being a strong voice, a champion, for the poor and oppressed, but I envy and admire their ingenuity, solidarity and determination. They will forever remind us of what happened to them, through film, song, print or scribbles in the sand, whatever keeps it fresh in our memory.

Mr Spike Lee, you and half the black intellectuals in the USA condone and promote the use of the word nigger among Afro-Americans – the sanctity of self-degradation – yet you complain about Django. Without seeing it. Incredible. Consider this: Jews addressing each other as holo (holocaust) – to remind them of their history! “Yo whzzup holo! Hangin wid my holos! Smokin chronic wid my holo! Hittin bitches wid my holos!” Unimaginable. Take a page from their book, leave niggers in the history books.

It’s time for self-respect. It’s time to stop the self-abuse. Give power to the word, and shame to any man who utters it. Build memorials, make guilt inducing films – get to work.

Django is truth. The terror when the slave whip lashed that girl’s back, the callous disregard for human life by southern slavers, the cruelty, the tools and methods of cruelty, were all real. All reserved for the nigger slave, or the free nigger – that’s right Spike Lee, black people didn’t exist – there were no African Americans in America, just niggers. It’s not a term of endearment, friend Spike, it’s derogatory, and it’s time to put it away.

The journey, from nigger to ‘human-being,‘ started with the effort, kindness and courage of good people, black and white. A German man befriends Django as a slave, but respects and treats him as a man, and lays down his life for him at the end. His name, was Doctor King Schultz.

Quentin Tarantino’s film deserves a standing ovation. It’s sad, funny and romantic, it cuts to the point and remains there, it kicks ass and is dead serious. A nigger on a horse rode into town. A man on ‘his horse,’ packing steel, rode out. His name was Django.

Spike Lee, if you can’t say ‘well done!’ Please be quiet.

recommended: The Negro Boy by Dieter Rogiers

Comments
38 Responses to “Doctor King Schultz”
  1. read.robin says:

    Well said. Having not watched the movie, I’m hesitant to agree with you 100% on its content, but this is a pertinent issue and very, very true.

    On the other hand, slavery also conditioned us to hate distrust each other; it wasn’t the unifying experience that the Holocaust was and it had entirely different consequences. Our tormentors pushed us apart, the perpetrators of the Holocaust (unwittingly) pushed the Jews together. But we need to stop using the psychological effects of slavery as an excuse to step on each other and call each other names. The Jews rose above their history by climbing on it and remembering its existence, while we’re content stay stuck in the same quicksand because everyone (black AND white) likes to pretend it never happened.

    Every time I hear stories about modern-day racism, I get upset. And I’m glad I live in a mostly-black country because I’d probably be getting into a lot of trouble for running my mouth in front of the white people. Ugh.

  2. lexsborgia says:

    Thank you very much for your assessment, puts things even more clearly in perspective. Much appreciated. I think if black people(in America) finally stopped calling each other ‘names’ it would translate to a quantum leap forward. Not giving up hope, and will continue to plead with them to stop. Cheers.

  3. I haven’t seen the movie either, so I’m kind of hesitant to speak about it. I think, though, that making people uncomfortable is a good thing. Especially with upper class white people, they often like to push aside anything in history that reflects negatively on them. By putting this use of language and these ideas that existed in that time frame out in the open, it is like saying “this is what happened to us, and we aren’t afraid of calling you out on it”. And it sounds like Tarantino got the shock value he was going for. Sometimes pointing out biases is a good thing to change the way people think. As for Spike Lee, there will always be people who are offended by controversial material like this, and you can’t tell someone they are “wrong” for being offended by it. I think he has the right to say that he found it distasteful if he felt it was, and not be attacked for feeling that way.

  4. lexsborgia says:

    Thanks for sharing your opinion with me. Spike is free to have his opinion, but he’s isolated on this, and very wrong. Plus his words were unjustified and extremely disrespectful, to a colleague, an artist like himself. Spike is a good guy at heart, but he has shown himself repeatedly to be ‘colour blind’- he only sees in black.

  5. Good stuff here. Very powerful.
    At a lesser level, I’m from Lancashire and currently domiciled in Essex. People seem to assume that because i sound as if I keep ferrets in the bath I must be stupid or a criminal.
    Not as bad as being called ‘nigger’ I know.

    • lexsborgia says:

      ‘….and all this time I thought you were a German with ferrets in the bath and a wank poster of Camilla over your bed.’ thank God it isn’t so. Thnx4your opinion. I wish my bros would finally realise how stupid it is and stop degrading themselves, and in so doing…all of us.
      Nobody is my second name: I’m reading you. Cheers.

      • It took a while for the Greman/wank poster gag to sink in, but that’s funny. I wish I’d thought of it. Maybe sometime i will and claim it as mine own.

  6. O mehn! I love this article…best thing I’ve read in 2013…believe me…
    ““Yo whzzup holo! Hangin wid my holos! Smokin chronic wid my holo! Hittin bitches wid my holos!”
    It cracked me…
    For me, the movie was a masterpiece, as an art word, and as a documentary and a movie. I’m looking for a movie that would impress me this year…not even Skyfall or Zero Dark Thirty come close.

    In any case, I don’t mind being called ‘nigger’ by anyone…if its made in jest….we also call ourselves fool, idiot, arsehole who joking with friends

    I like this Sir.

  7. Yona Hall says:

    I am an African American Jew who lives in Israel.I keep up with things that are of interest to me and this movie Django Unchained was of interest to me.I am a fan of QT and have seen most of his movies.I find him interesting because there is no doubt that he has a thing for Black folks.I grew up inSouth Central LA AND have seen many a movie at The Magic Johnson Theatres in the Crenshaw Mall,where QT says he’s often gone to get the audience reaction to his movies.I recognized some of the places QT filmed Jackie Brown because I’ve visited them many times.

    You noted every group has derogatory names that outsiders refer to them in order to marginalize them and make them feel less than,but I can assure you that not even a neo nazi would refer to a Jew as”holo”.Neither would any Jew.I understand what you were trying to say,but you need to learn some of those anti Jewish slurs for it to be on the same level as nigger.By the way I did not hear the n word bandied about as I was growing up and have never used it.I would not want anyone Black to refer to me as such,even with the greatest love.If ever I heard a white say it to me,that would bring out the N in me and it would be on!.

    I did see Django Unchained and I liked it very much.I feel I can use it,fictional story that it is,to educate Israeli’s who tend to know a great deal about African American pop culture,but very little else.Black movies play here all the time and The Help was recently aired on tv.That is a movie I have boycotted,so I’ll never see it,but I digress.

    I agree with you that a nigger rode into town and at the end a man rode out!That is a wonderful way of describing the movie,even though it was much more than that.I have no problem with anything Spike Lee has to say about the movie.What got me was that he commented without ever having seen the movie! He cannot be taken seriously if he refuses to see something and still has such strong feelings against it.I know I have done the same with The Help,but I’m no Spike Lee!

    • lexsborgia says:

      thanx4poppin in. Your reaction to ‘the fictional slur’ Holo has hit the nail right on the head: it’s unthinkable; that’s the point. We should choose and use our words carefully, because if we don’t, they will eventually become ‘good for nothing’ and we won’t be taken seriously. Jews are taken seriously because they don’t joke frivolously about that event. We used to say ‘Michael Rappaport’ was the blackest white guy out there, but QT is the blackest guy in there. I really do hope Spike Lee apologises, eventually. Cheers.

  8. I’m definitely with you on the use of the n-word. NO ONE should say it, and it makes people of color look foolish using it as a term of endearment. I spoke on this before (http://jfilez.wordpress.com/2012/01/19/will-the-n-word-ever-die/). When I first heard about the media making a huge deal out of Django Unchained because of the use of the n-word, I was hesitant to watch it, but then, I realized, if I can watch and enjoy blaxploitation movies (which use THAT word a lot), than surely I can handle watching Django Unchained. I didn’t find the movie offensive at all, and think people need to relax about it. In the end, it’s entertainment, and, if you’re already familiar with Tarantino’s work, than you shouldn’t be surprised. I enjoyed the film, and would love it if there were a sequel.

    • lexsborgia says:

      Thank you Justine. Black people are not a tribe, we don’t have a spokesman, but black Americans must understand that the world is quick to judge all of us together, according to what they see and hear coming out of the States(mostly). I’m with you all the way. Maybe we need to finally start a global petition of awareness, a drive to enlightenment sort of thing! The Age of Obama should contribute in helping black people2have a better perception of themselves, and improve the way we refer to ourselves. Keep on smiling. Cheers.

      • If there’s more of an influx of positive and diverse Black figures, like Obama, than the universal concept of the Negro will be properly challenged. Unfortunately, it seems like ratchetness and anything associated with Hip-Hop culture, is what currently defines what it is to be Black in America. Despite this issue, I shall keep on smiling! 🙂

  9. Zderosixnine says:

    lexborgia…I shared your view on my blog (zerosixnine.blogspot.com). Thank you for posting your comment there! QT is brilliant. Not all Negroes will appreciate this film. I’m a Negro (aka…nigger…sorry Oprah) that loved QT’s film. I laughed, I cried. Like Samuel Jackson said…”I’ll be the most hated Negro in the World after anyone sees this film”! Samuel should have receive some sort of award for his performance! It was over the top! Django was over the top! Pure QT! BTW…I can’t ride a horse!

    • lexsborgia says:

      I would need an entire post to describe SLJ’s performance as ‘the only thing on earth not lower than a black slave trader.’ I think that is the most over-the-top performance he’s ever delivered(I missed you like a rock in my shoe). The film was brilliant on all levels, and we got to see a side of QT that we hadn’t before. This guy is the ‘complete filmmaker.’ Spike Lee and the other haters are just jealous that he isn’t black. Thanx for hitting me up. Cheers.

  10. Paul Clayton says:

    Dude…the pleasure was all mine! QT is brilliant. Gotta go see Inglourious Basterds again! When SLJ first appeared in Django…I looked at my wife and said…”Is that SLJ”? He was over the top! Cheers right back at ya’!

  11. Entered the wrong link to my little space on the internet. BTW…I’ve seen Django twice…and will probably see it again! Awesome!

  12. Jet Black says:

    I came across your blog via EJ Bones. I too have myeloma and write a blog. And I’m Jewish. I’ve just added you to my list, but I seem to be following so many blogs just now, I’m feeling overwhelmed and aware that I’m not writing enough on my own… and I don’t even have a job to go to!

    I love what you’ve written and fully agree with you about slavery and how Jewish people claim their right to be a tad annoyed about what the world has done. I am proud to be one of those Jewish people who IS a voice and protector for the poor and oppressed, and am often ashamed of my fellows for that lack that you mention. I’ve yet to see the film, but am developing admiration for QT, after my initial induction via Kill Bill (several years late, I might add), so it’s on my list. Thanks for the hearty recommendation!

  13. Jet Black says:

    Actually, I think the word I use, rather than protector, is an ally!

    • lexsborgia says:

      I’m happy you understood the point I was trying to make about ‘protectors, champions, allies.’ I have not given up hope on that, there’s always a good man/woman on the horizon. E.J: the first time I read E.J, I didn’t know she had Myeloma, I just liked her cool ‘bat-suit’ and bubbly personality. After I found out, I felt sad, but she makes me feel more happy than sad, even on her bad days when it’s tough2find a smile. Life is not fair or unfair, it is the way it is. We must plough on, or exit voluntarily, and though it sometimes seems hopeless, we do want to live, and we will fight to live. If the fight is all we have2look4ward2 right now, let’s storm into battle, and when we have no strength even for that, then let’s sit on a hill and observe or direct the battle from that vantage point, hopefully, on a sunny day.

      Don’t pressure yourself to write, don’t frighten the Muse. Writing happens when it happens, just chill.
      You will enjoy Django very much, a beautiful film.
      Thanks4stopping by. I’ll drop in on you from time2time as well. Cheers, thanks a lot.

  14. Jet Black says:

    Thanks! Do you have an ‘About’ section? I’m curious to know a bit more about you… like a name… just for starters! 🙂

  15. I’d read this post a few days back & found it pretty good. Still, it wasn’t until this weekend that I’d actually found a voice for my opinions concerning the movie. Did I like it, certainly; I found it a fairly realistic depiction of relations/reactions at that time & place in history (according to what I’ve learnt).
    Am I offended by the ‘N’-word; in normal life – extremely, in the film – much less than I anticipated. I realized that both reactions are governed by the meaning of the word (sub-human/animal/ not equal); hence my shunning of the term in my life yet my ability to ‘handle’ it in Django unchained, Tom Sawyer, Roots, & other literature/movies of this period.
    How did I feel about Spike Lee’s response? It seems to me that his anger at Tarantino’s film is not because of the subject matter or the language but rather, perhaps, professional jealousy. For years, he was the director of our stories & voice of our situation) and now someone else produced something competent. Personally, I’d like to see more of our stories. I’d like to learn about our heroes/ines, be educated about our struggles & accomplishments, & feel pride for our ability to still rise. I think there’s room for more than one storyteller (as long as the story is right). In my opinion, rather than trying to nullify the emotion/meaning behind the word by throwing it around all willy nilly, lets tell the story & raise awareness of who we were before & became after we were given a new title.

    • lexsborgia says:

      I’ve had time since then to refine it, in order to make a more cohesive argument. Thank you for returning, I appreciate you adding your voice… which you’ve done rather well. Cheers.

  16. Jet Black says:

    I’ve re-read your updated version and don’t notice a huge change in what you’re saying. But the very fact that you publish immediately and come back later to edit, amend, etc. is an interesting possibility. At least that way, the thing gets published “hot”, rather than spending time “getting it right” and allowing it to go a bit tepid or off the boil. I will remember this as a possibility for my own blog.

    On another point, you write “I am often saddened by the Jews, now a powerful country”. The Jews are a group of people, not a country. The country is Israel, but it is not “the Jews”. We are everywhere and my country is England. 🙂

  17. Arkenaten says:

    All good points.
    I live in South Africa. Nuff said, I reckon?

    • lexborgia says:

      I hear you Cuz. A silly conversation, from a silly , jealous man. All I wish, is that black America would not ‘speaking for me’- we don’t speak the same language.

  18. lexborgia says:

    Reblogged this on nerd on the bridge and commented:

    Did someone say ‘black history month?’ One of the most important ingredients needed to improve the stew is seldom ever added: self reflection. This is the most visited post on ‘the bridge,’ and still is, long after ‘nigger on a horse’ has ceased being the most used search-term globally. To African Americans, the journey ends with you – there are no niggers, only history, fools and ignorance.

  19. Very, VERY well said brother. I was going to say, I’m not sure how I missed this the first time around but then I remembered that I hadn’t even started blogging at that stage.

    I only saw the film recently but I wholeheartedly agree with your summation of it. Mama Smithson used to be a children’s librarian and was a strong advocate of Black History Month. Whilst the film may give her a heart attack because of the violence and language, I shall encourage her to give this piece a read. Carry on.

  20. makagutu says:

    I should watch the movie.

Leave a comment

  • Follow nerd on the bridge on WordPress.com
  • Ford Prefect's Towel

    • None
