Game Over

The Box

Obligations
reminders
brochures
overtures
and government
useless paper
anger
every day
at the same time
you even have a key
to my building
Is that legal?

Memories
faded now
of you coming up the street
sometimes on a motorcycle
unseen but audible
and I, often times
excited
rushing out to meet you
full of hope
careful not to let it show
in case of disappointment
which never lasted long
because
there was still tomorrow
and you seldom let us down
dependable
irreplacable

You bore glad tidings
from near and afar
worldwide
packages with smiles inside
that made me happy
even doubling as daddy
on discrete occasions
in the afternoon
and other times
ringing twice
when mummy needed you
for an hour
maybe two

Something to look forward to
your daily routine
it was
but I grew up
technology came between us
mummy found Craig’s list
leaving you only one word
to deliver each day
pay

Al Gore’s invention
he did
ask him
has seen you to ruin
still you’re allowed to continue
with this game
of ready or not here I come
and there’s no place to hide
you always win

I don’t need hard knocks
stay away from the box
and if you can do
take the damn thing with you
Leave me alone
Mr Postman, please
you make me unhappy
Mail is horror

Comments
13 Responses to “Game Over”
  1. erikafuego says:

    wow, you are something else. I’m so impressed.

  2. mirrorgirl says:

    Hi I have nominated you for the blog of the year 2013 reward :)http://mirrorgirlblog.com/2013/12/18/blog-of-the-year-2013/

  3. rabemacseoin says:

    There’s an award waiting for you on my blog, I hope you’ll accept it-we need more people like you questioning ad pushing people out of their thinking-comfort-zone.

  4. iarxiv says:

    poor cactus on the pic…

  5. Very clever my friend.

  6. lexborgia says:

    Thanks, MG. Wish I could glide over the Norwegian snow on a sled, stop off at your place and collect a bag full of your generosity(the money too), and give you a cactus-free hug. Smile@you from Berlin.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Lexborgia: I love the hugging cactus! And I like you, too. […]



Leave a comment

  • Follow nerd on the bridge on WordPress.com
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 434 other followers

